sleeve_gastrique_endoscopique
sleeve_gastrique_endoscopique_2
sleeve_gastrique_endoscopique_3


  • Same weight loss benefits without surgery or scars.
  • Safer, lower risk procedure leaving anatomy intact.

At IHU Strasbourg we are the among first to offer traditional obesity surgical treatments and the new non-surgical alternative, the endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty (ESG).

PRINCIPLE

CHARACTERISTICS

The endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty is a new procedure for those who want the benefits of weight loss surgery but from a less invasive, non-surgical procedure.

Traditional bariatric surgeries such as sleeve gastrectomy and roux en-y-gastric by-pass are more invasive procedures with a generally higher risk profile, particularly that of staple line leakage, but with excellent weight loss results.

Which is the better option for you, bariatric surgery or ESG, will depend on your personal view of the risks and benefits and on your surgical and medical history.

This procedure is an option if you’re significantly overweight — a body mass index of 35 or more — and diet and exercise haven’t worked for you.

The ESG procedure is less invasive with faster recovery times but as a new procedure, there is little data available on long term outcomes. This is true of all new procedures.

Last but not least, although it’s not designed to be a temporary procedure, endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty can be reversed and converted to bariatric surgery should the weight loss achieved not be satisfactory. In addition to being reversible, the endoscopic sleeve can be redone if the patient needs their stomach to be resized again.

Who it's for?

The procedure is available to people whose body mass index (BMI) is over 30 or higher (Calculate your BMI here) who haven’t been successful maintaining weight loss with other methods.

Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty is often an option for people who are unable to have a surgical procedure such as those who have large amounts of abdominal scarring from injuries or previous procedures, or patients who would prefer not to have surgery to treat obesity.

Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty isn’t for everyone who is overweight. A screening process helps doctors see if the procedure might be beneficial for you as for any bariatric interventions.

To benefit from this procedure you must be willing to commit to healthy lifestyle changes, regular medical follow-up and participate in behavioral therapy in a medically supervised weight loss program.

To qualify for the endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty procedure, you should:

  • Be 18 or older
  • Have a body mass index (BMI) of 30 or higher
  • Be willing to participate in a medically supervised weight loss program.

Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty isn’t for everybody. ESG is not appropriate for anyone who has gastrointestinal bleeding, a hiatal hernia larger than 3 centimeters or who’s had prior major esophageal or stomach surgery.

HOW IT IS PERFORMED?

ESG involves shrinking and shortening the stomach from the inside to significantly reduce its capacity.

The procedure is done under general anesthesia using an endoscope, a flexible tube with a camera and an endoscopic suturing device attached.

The endoscope is inserted thought the mouth into the stomach. Using the endoscope, the doctor places sutures in the stomach in a specific pattern from the bottom of the stomach to the top. The series of sutures is then tightened in a fashion that resembles an accordion.

After the procedure, the stomach anatomy remains intact but has been stitched to leave a smaller « banana » shaped stomach. The procedure works by reducing the stomach capacity and slowing down the speed at which food passes into the bowel. The food goes into a small pocket at the top of the stomach before working its way down through the smaller stomach, and emptying into the bowel.

The procedure takes about 90 minutes.

After the procedure

After the endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty, you’ll awaken in a recovery room, where medical staff monitors you for any complications. The majority of people leave go home the same day after recovering from sedation or the day after the procedure.

Patients generally follow a liquid diet for a brief amount of time after the procedure. Diet and exercise remain an integral part of a patient’s health regimen before and after the procedure, with a multidisciplinary team of doctors including an endocrinologist and nutritionist to monitor one’s food intake and metabolic health before and after the procedure.

Interest and benefits

The major benefit of the endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty is that it is performed endoscopically through the mouth. This means that unlike surgery, there is no cutting or stapling, no scarring and no wounds.

EXPECTED WEIGHT LOSS

Endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty leads to significant weight loss broadly comparable to those obtained with gastric banding.

Findings demonstrate that patients may lose 30% to 60% of their excess body weight within six months of their procedure. Not only does a patient see a decrease in body weight, but often related comorbidities such as high blood pressure, diabetes and sleep apnea can improve after having this procedure.

Like other weight-loss procedures, endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty requires commitment to a healthier lifestyle.

You need to make permanent healthy changes to your diet and get regular exercise to help ensure the long-term success of endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty.

MAIN COMPLICATIONS RISKS

In early studies on endoscopic sleeve gastroplasty, the procedure has shown a favorable safety profile.

Pain and nausea may occur for several days after the procedure. These symptoms are usually managed with pain and nausea medications. Most people feel better after two days.

Because the procedure is still new and not in wide use, questions remain about its long-term effectiveness and risks.

sleeve_gastrique_endoscopique
sleeve_gastrique_endoscopique_2
sleeve_gastrique_endoscopique_3

Cette intervention permet :

  • permet une perte de poids conséquente sans chirurgie ou cicatrice,
  • expose à moins de risques, sans modification anatomique.

À l’IHU de Strasbourg, nous proposons une nouvelle alternative non chirurgicale, la gastroplastie endoscopique (SGE) ainsi que les traitements chirurgicaux traditionnels contre l’obésité.

Principe

Caractéristiques

Cette nouvelle procédure est proposée aux personnes qui désirent les bénéfices d’une chirurgie de l’obésité avec une intervention moins invasive endoscopique non chirurgicale.

La chirurgie bariatrique traditionnelle (Sleeve gastrectomie et le gastric bypass) permet une excellente perte de poids mais avec un risque de complications plus élevé.

Le choix entre une chirurgie bariatrique classique et une procédure endoscopique (SGE) va dépendre de votre appréciation personnelle des risques et des bénéfices ainsi que de vos antécédents médicaux et chirurgicaux.

Cette procédure peut être envisagée si vous êtes en situation d’obésité (indice de masse corporelle égale ou supérieure à 30 kg/m2) et que les régimes alimentaires, des conseils diététiques et des activités physiques n’ont pas permis d’avoir une amélioration significative en terme de perte de poids.

La SGE est moins invasive avec une convalescence plus rapide et peut même être effectuée en hospitalisation ambulatoire dans des cas spécifiques. Cette procédure est nouvelle, et peu de données sont disponibles sur les résultats à long terme ce qui est le cas pour toute procédure innovante.

Enfin, bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une procédure temporaire, la gastroplastie endoscopique est réversible et peut permettre en cas de résultats insuffisants aux attentes du patient et de l’équipe médicale renvoyer vers la réalisation d’une chirurgie bariatrique classique. De plus, si nécessaire elle peut être répétée et «ajustée» pour réduire encore plus le volume gastrique.

À qui est destinée la SGE ?

Cette procédure peut être envisagée chez des personnes en situation d’obésité (indice de masse corporelle égale ou supérieure à 32 kg/m2) qui ne parviennent pas à atteindre une perte de poids malgré un suivi médical et une activité physique bien conduits.

La SGE est surtout indiquée chez les personnes qui ne peuvent pas avoir de chirurgie pour des raisons médicales ou chirurgicales (antécédents d’interventions chirurgicales abdominales) ou chez les patients qui ne souhaitent pas avoir d’intervention chirurgicale classique pour traiter leur obésité.

La SGE n’est pas indiquée chez les personnes qui sont en surpoids (non obèses). Dans tous les cas, un bilan pré-opératoire permettra de définir si cette intervention peut vous être proposée.

La SGE, comme la chirurgie bariatrique classique, reste un outil qui sera efficace si vous mettez en œuvre un changement de mode de vie et d’alimentation dans le cadre d’un suivi médical strict.

Pour être candidat à une SGE,  certaines conditions sont nécessaires :

  • âge >18 ans
  • indice de masse corporelle ≥35-40 kg/m2 en présence de comorbidités
  • indice de masse corporelle supérieure à 40 kg/m2
  • indice de masse corporelle ≥ 32-35 kg/m2 en présence de comorbidité à évaluer cas par cas
  • accepter le suivi médical pré et post opératoire.

La gastroplastie endoscopique ne peut être réalisée dans certains cas :

  • hémorragies digestives
  • hernie hiatale de plus de 3 cm
  • antécédents de chirurgie majeure sur l’œsophage et l’estomac

Comment se passe l'intervention ?

La SGE permet une réduction et un raccourcissement interne de l’estomac pour en réduire significativement sa contenance et ralentir sa vidange.

Elle est réalisée sous anesthésie générale grâce à un endoscope (tube flexible permettant la vision interne) équipé d’un système de suture endoscopique.

L’endoscope est inséré dans l’estomac en passant par la bouche. Plusieurs sutures seront placées selon un schéma spécifique du bas en haut de l’estomac. En resserrant ces sutures, la paroi gastrique se replie comme un accordéon réduisant par la même le volume disponible.

Il n’y a donc aucune modification anatomique de l’estomac, seule sa paroi a été suturée pour lui donner un aspect interne de chaussette. Le mécanisme de perte pondérale est basé sur la forte réduction de la capacité de l’estomac et l’action sur la vidange gastrique qui est très ralentie par le changement de morphologie de l’estomac. Les aliments arrivent dans la partie supérieure de l’estomac avant de descendre lentement à travers la portion rétrécie vers le reste du tube digestif.

Le temps opératoire moyen est de l’ordre de 90 minutes.

Après l'intervention

Après la réalisation de la SGE, vous serez admis en salle de réveil pour surveiller la survenue de toute complication. Un retour à domicile est possible le jour même après le réveil ou le lendemain. Un régime alimentaire liquide est mis en place  pendant quelques jours puis élargis.

La prise en charge de l’obésité est fondée sur les principes de l’éducation thérapeutique du patient. Un regime alimentaire adapté et la pratique d’un exercice physique régulier sont nécessaires comme pour toute chirurgie de l’obésité. Un suivi multidisciplinaire (chirurgien, endocrinologue nutritionniste, etc) permet de contrôler l’efficacité, les mesures nutritionnelles et l’absence de problèmes métaboliques.

Intérêts et avantages

Il s’agit d’une intervention simple, rapide et exposant à peu de complications opératoires.

L’intérêt majeur de cette technique est d’être réalisé par voie endoscopique sans résection, sans cicatrices, sans altération de l’anatomie.

Perte de poids

La gastroplastie endoscopique permet une perte de poids significative comparable à celle obtenue après la mise en place d’un anneau gastrique.

D’après les premiers résultats de la littérature médicale, une perte de 30 % à 60 % de l’excès de poids peut être observée dans les six mois après l’intervention. On observe également outre la perte de poids, une amélioration des comorbidités (HTA, diabète, apnée du sommeil).

Ces résultats ne seront obtenus qu’en cas de changement pour un mode de vie plus sain.

Ces changements nécessitent un respect permanent d’une diététique adaptée et d’un exercice physique régulier pour un bon résultat à long terme.

Principaux risques de complications

Les premières études concernant la gastroplastie endoscopique ne révèle pas de risque majeur.

Quelques douleurs et des nausées peuvent être présentes pendant les jours suivants l’intervention. Des antalgiques et des antinauséeux sont prescrits systématiquement.

Cependant cette intervention est récente avec un nombre de cas restreints et une surveillance des effets à long terme et des risques est nécessaire.